Recitation of the Marian Rosary

48. Recitation of the Marian Rosary (Rosarii marialis recitatio)

A plenary indulgence is granted, if the Rosary is recited in a church or public oratory or in a family group, a religious Community or pious Association; a partial indulgence is granted in other circumstances.

"Now the Rosary is a certain formula of prayer, which is made up of fifteen decades of "Hail Marys" with an "Our Father" before each decade, and in which the recitation of each decade is accompanied by pious meditation on a particular mystery of our Redemption." (Roman Breviary)

The name "Rosary," however, is commonly used in reference to only a third part of the fifteen decades.

The gaining of the plenary indulgence is regulated by the following norms:

  1. The recitation of a third part only of the Rosary suffices; but the five decades must be recited continuously.
  2. The vocal recitation must be accompanied by pious meditation on the mysteries.
  3. In public recitation the mysteries must be announced in the manner customary in the place; for private recitation, however, it suffices if the vocal recitation is accompanied by meditation on the mysteries.
  4. For those belonging to the Oriental rites, amongst whom this devotion is not practiced, the Patriarchs can determine some other prayers in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mary (for those of the Byzantine rite, for example, the Hymn "Akathistos" or the Office "Paraclisis"); to the prayers thus determined are accorded the same indulgences as for the Rosary

The Mysteries of the Rosary

The Joyful Mysteries
1. The Annunciation of the Archangel Gabriel to the Virgin Mary
2. The Visitation of the Virgin Mary to the Parents of St. John the Baptist
3. The Birth of Our Lord at Bethlehem
4. The Presentation of Our Lord in the Temple
5. The Finding of Our Lord in the Temple
The Sorrowful Mysteries
l. The Agony of Our Lord in the Garden of Gethsemane
2. The Scourging of Our Lord at the Pillar
3. The Crowning of Our Lord with Thorns
4. The Carrying of the Cross by Our Lord to Calvary
5. The Crucifixion and Death of Our Lord
The Glorious Mysteries
1. The Resurrection of Our Lord from the dead
2. The Ascension of Our Lord into Heaven
3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles
4. The Assumption of Our Blessed Lady into Heaven
5. The Coronation of Our Blessed Lady as Queen of Heaven and Earth

Home ] What's New ] Articles ] Bible ] Canon Law ] Dissent ] Faith ] Indulgences ] Liturgy ] Prayers ] Renew ] Saints ] Teachings ] Links ] About Us ] Reviews ] Contact Us ] Our Lord ] Our Lady ] Table of Contents ]